My Other Life

23 Jan
Carolyn Tillie Sushi Ring made from Gachapon toys

Carolyn Tillie Sushi Ring made from Gachapon toys

image

Matthew Carden - Cauliflower Farmers

Matthew Carden – Cauliflower Farmers

image

Cara Brown Watercolor

image

Victoria Mimiaga Broccoli in Plastic

Victoria Mimiaga Broccoli in Plastic

imageMany of my readers may not know about my other life.  For years my husband, photographer Matthew Carden and I dreamed of having some kind of food related art business. We weren’t sure how it would take shape but two years ago in April it was suddenly born as Super Fresh Art Gallery. It only made sense, I’m a chef and cookbook author and he’s a fine art food photographer. Just by chance we stumbled upon a fantastic light open space on the Main Street in Old Town Novato,  just four blocks from our house. We weren’t quite ready,  but are you ever really ready for a new adventure?

Carolyn Tillie Broccoli Earrings

Carolyn Tillie Broccoli Earrings

We rented the space and  took off from there. We opened the world’s first all Food Art Gallery, all our art has some relationship to food. It’s funny, people walk by and I can hear them saying “food art, that’s weird” or they get all excited and love what we are doing! At first we opened as an appointment only showroom for my husband’s art work but in the last year and a half we find ourselves moving in to being a full blown gallery. Dividing  my time between the gallery,  my cookbook and food styling have been a challenge.

We started selling on the new Amazon Art site when it launched this summer and that has been really fun!I do love running the gallery and I love when my clients get so excited about the art. Recently we have a very nice article written about our crazy life, focusing on the gallery. It was wonderful for us because it brought so many new food artists out of the woodwork and to our attention. Since the article I have acquired four new artists and two more on the way. I am really excited that we can represent artists who document our culture through food and some who just find it the subject they love to work with. Thank you to all my readers for the support and positive energy you always seem to throw my way.

carden_Chron

Click to read article

Check out our other artists too:

Jim Bachor – Humorous mosaics

Caren Alpert – Amazing Magnification photography

Let me know what you are thinking!

