Super Delicious Fluffy Gluten Free Oatmeal Muffins

21 May

Image

I recently found Cup to Cup Gluten Free Flour and I think it may be the best one so far. Image

I just feel better when I eat gluten free! I have been eating that way for almost 6 years. I do eat gluten occasionally but for the most part I stick with a GF free diet. When I first started this way of eating I had gallstones, and they were horrible! I had to cut out fat and fat tastes good. After my gallbladder was removed (they tell you you don’t really need it, they lie!) I had a very hard time eating any fatty foods, so I started cutting out even more thinking maybe my digestion was screwy because of wheat or dairy. What happened, was that I started feeling alert and my occasional migraines disappeared for good.  I really had no idea I was even in a fog, but I must have been for a very long time because the change I saw from going off wheat was big. I was able to slowly reintroduce fat, truly unfortunate for my waistline!

I cut out most dairy too and my tummy problems cleared up a lot but not all the way. It wasn’t until just under two years ago I found out I had Thyroid issues that I was clear of tummy problems and the fog continues to be lifted. I continue to try and avoid dairy and wheat and feel worlds better for it.  I think a lot of us walk around not even knowing we feel terrible.

All this for muffins, yes I just gave you way too much information, but if you or your kids are feeling foggy, unmotivated or bloated try giving up gluten for a few months.

Image

Fluffy Gluten Free Oatmeal Muffins

These muffins are gluten free but you wouldn’t know it.

The flour does have milk powder so if you can handle a tiny bit of dairy it will be perfect for you.

1/2 cup milk (soy or almond milk)
 3/4 cup instant oatmeal
 2 Tbs vegetable oil
1/4 cup coconut oil
2 eggs
 2/3 cup brown sugar

1 cup all-purpose flour (gluten free flour)
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 cup mini chips
1/4 cup shredded sweet coconut or unsweetened

Directions
Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C).
Butter 12 muffin cups or use cupcake papers
Mix oats and milk together in a bowl, set aside to soak for 15 minutes or longer.
Combine  flour,  baking powder, baking soda, and salt, cinnamon and nutmeg, set aside.
In a large measuring cup add coconut oil into vegetable oil. If the coconut oil is solid, mash the coconut oil into vegetable oil. Add eggs and brown sugar and mix until smooth
Add oatmeal milk mixture into wet mixture, mix.
Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients, add chocolate chips and coconut, mix until just incorporated.
Fill the prepared muffin cups with batter.
Bake in preheated oven until tops are golden brown and an inserted toothpick comes out clean, about 20 minutes.

Image

One Response to “Super Delicious Fluffy Gluten Free Oatmeal Muffins”

  1. prom dresses at nordstrom June 11, 2013 at 5:40 AM #

    As a Newbie, I am always searching online for articles that can benefit me. Thank you

Let me know what you are thinking!

