Notcha Your Normal Nachos

27 Feb


I love Twitter, I have made many friends on Twitter but the best part of all my Tweeting is getting lots of yummy snacks delivered to my front door. Last week I was messing around on Twitter and I got a Tweet from @pretzlecrisps on Valentine’s Day, to say they were sending the love in the form of snacks.  The funny part is that the next morning there was a huge package on my front stoop and it was hand delivered, not my mail.  Look at all that schwag, a case of all the flavors of Crisps, a serving bowl, beer cozies, grocery lists, pens, humus, salsa, and my favorite chocolate almond butter from Justin’s.

Here is out exchange…

PretzelCrispsFeb 14, 6:42pm via Web

@Chefjen Adorable lunch idea, lucky kids! DM work addy & we’ll dlvr Pretzel Crisps snack packs, perfect for lunches or snacking, our treat!

 @Chefjen Are you up for a Pretzel Crisps delivery, our treat! DM addy, snacks on us!

@Chefjen Special delivery on your front porch! Snack happy & let us know your favorites!

@PretzelCrisps and it wasn’t even in a box…you were here! Sorry I wasn’t home.

@Chefjen Sorry we missed you, what a beautiful day! Enjoy the Pretzel Crisps & dips!

The next morning my daughter was so excited to open the box and see the all flavors. We ended up tearing into the Original and Sesame right away we loved them instantly. I really am not a pretzel fan but I do love a crunch, so these made me smile. They can be filled with spread, dipped in chocolate or savory dips, crushed for coating on chicken, the possibilities are endless. I saved the spiced ones for some out of town guests, I didn’t think the kids would appreciate the spicy flavors.

We decided to get creative and my daughter suggested we make nachos with the Pretzel Crisps. Being salty and crunchy we thought the crisp would hold up to baking and they did!  We made a quick version of nachos but the possibilities are really endless.  We decided the Jalapeno Jack flavor would work best as the base for our nachos. They are pretty intense right out of the bag especially if you are not used to eating chips and flavored bagged snacks. After we laced them in cheese and drowned them in salsa and avocado they balanced right out. I have to say as snack food goes these were pretty tasty and had a zing!!

Pretzel Crisps Nachos

This is super simple to make, add beans, meats or anything you can think up!!

This can be made with any of the Pretzel Crisp flavors we chose a spicy one but choose original for the kids.

½ bag Jalapeno Jack Pretzel Chips

1- 1 1/2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese or Jack Cheese

2 Tbs chopped cilantro

1/2 cup mild salsa

1/2 diced avocado

Preheat oven to 350˚F

Line a baking sheet with a silicone mat or greased parchment paper.

make one layer of pretzel Crisps, add half the cheese and cilantro, repeat with another layer on top. If you are using beans and meat or other veggies add them to these layers.

Bake for about 10 minutes.

Remove from oven and top with salsa and diced avocado.

Enjoy.

Note – We also made a batch with Raclette cheese, it melts extremely fast and ended up being delicious on the Crisps.

Raclette – Swiss or French alpine cheese with a nutty flavor and silky, smooth texture.

3 Responses to “Notcha Your Normal Nachos”

  1. Rug Cleaning Campbelltown March 4, 2012 at 5:53 AM #

    Hello There. I found your blog the use of msn. This is a very well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to learn more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I will definitely return.

  2. Anonymous February 29, 2012 at 3:52 AM #

    Love Pretzel Crisps! 🙂

  3. Anonymous February 28, 2012 at 1:03 PM #

    Love chef Jen.Her food is attractive,healthy,delicioius fun to make and always interesting. Wish she had a TV,show.Naomi B

Let me know what you are thinking!

