Your (Crayon) Heart’s Desire

11 Feb

Colorful Crayons

It is very unusual for me to put non-food on my blog, but since I have re named the Toddler Café to Playful Pantry I thought I could use artistic licence to bend the “rules” this time. The reality here is that this craft is made entirely in the kitchen so THERE!  Also I just really loved the photos Matthew took and wanted to share them with you.

If you follow me around the internet then by now you know I love Pinterest where I find great crafts and ideas. I pin all kinds of things from how to clean your pots and pans to how to make pom-poms out of  a T-shirt!  I came across a very popular pin on how to make cute crayon hearts for Valentine’s Day. I knew right away that it was the perfect thing to make for our class this year. My daughter goes to a Waldorf School and the kids have to MAKE all 18 of the Valentines to exchange, no store-bought ones allowed!!  Mostly we make flat cards, the kind that slip into an old school style decorated  shoe box with a slot, but we just couldn’t resist this project for Heart Crayons!

This project is easy but time-consuming, I would suggest to make only a few hearts, not 26 like we made!! (it did take all day) I wrote this “recipe” as if your child would be  helping so read on and enjoy.


This is a great way to avoid handing out candy, I assume they will get enough candy throughout the day, am I wrong?

Steps to making

Crayon Hearts

You will need:

Old crayons

a few bowls, one for garbage one for chopped crayons

an x-acto knife

a chefs knife

one old cutting board

a silicone heart pan or other silicone baking mold

1/4 – 1/2 cup measuring cup

The fun starts when the kids get to clean out the crayon bin!! Sort all the old crayons (washable don’t work as well as classic)

The grown up can slice down the side of the crayon with an x-acto knife.

The grown up will pre-heat the oven to 225˚F

The child will take off the cut crayon wrappers.

The grown up will chop the crayons into 1/2 inch chunks (on an old cutting board, it will be ruined by the end of this)

 The child will measure the crayons into the molds, they will melt down a bit so decide how thick you will want them and use the measuring cup so they will all be about even in the end.

The child will place the heart molds on a sheet pan.

The grown up will place the Pan in the oven, bake for 20 minutes until the crayons are melted.

The grown up will remove the pan from the oven, gently, they muck up if you move them too much.

Cool the crayons in the refrigerator until hardened, pop out of molds.

We decided to stick these to red glittery  heart shaped boards with foam tape. My daughter wrote “You Color My Day” with a white paint pen, they are adorable!!!

Even daddy got a special crayon!!

**Hot Tip** ask your local chain restaurants if they up cycle old crayons!!

One Response to “Your (Crayon) Heart’s Desire”

  1. My First Skool February 27, 2012 at 3:14 AM #

    So many art choices for the toddlers to enjoy. great read.

Let me know what you are thinking!

