Making Chocolate at Home

9 Feb

Homemade Chocolate

If you follow me on Facebook you may have seen a small post about “healthier” chocolate a few weeks back. I did promise that I would write-up the recipe, so here it goes. I have been on a Valentine’s kick, so to add to it I thought this would be a great time to make up a batch of this chocolate and wrap it up for your kids.

Recently I have been on a fitness craze, after eight years of writing about Toddlers and kid food I realized I had forgotten all about my health! I decided to start working out and making sure all my health ducks were in a row! I had a sneaking suspicion my thyroid was really out of wack and I was right, I got that all squared away and have enjoyed having my energy and motivation back again! That said, let’s eat chocolate!!

Now that my daughter is older 8 1/2  (I still consider her a toddler, but don’t tell her that.) We spend less time in the kitchen because she is busy with activities, friends and taking care of her doggie, Peepers and Violet the rat! When we are in the  kitchen I try to make it extra fun and something she really wants to do. We both love chocolate so when I came across this easy way to make chocolate at home I knew we had to make it.

In all my searches for healthy foods on my latest online obsession, Pinterest I keep coming up with a cute site called Chocolate Covered Katie she is a darling girl who makes healthy low-fat vegan desserts. I found her Chocolate recipe and had to make it. The ingredients are easy to get, you may already have them in your house!! I like her ideas, I do modify them a lot or just use them as inspiration, couldn’t we all use some of that?

Next time we make this we will add chopped salted almonds, mint extract or toasted coconut.

Ingredients for Hot Chocolate Bars

Here is my version of

Hot Chocolate Bars

Next time we make this we will add chopped salted almonds, mint extract or toasted coconut.
I like Scharfenburger cocoa powder or as pictured the Organic  Gaia is nice too. We happened to have some cute chocolate molds but you could use silicone cupcake molds or just plain old paper ones.
 This makes about 6 – 2 inch chocolates.

(gluten-free)

 

  • 1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoon cocoa powder
  • 4 tablespoons unrefined coconut oil (Trader Joe’s now carries this)
  • 1/4 cup  light agave nectar
  • 2- 3  drops stevia
  • optional: extracts, cocoa nibs, rice Krispies or other add-ins

In the microwave melt coconut oil in a small bowl. Coconut oil has a very low melthing point you will only need about 15-30 seconds to melt it.  Add agave or/and stevia drops. Stir, add cocoa powder. (I do not add water or milk as she suggests.)

and add 3-4 Tbs water or non-dairy milk if only using stevia

Stir, stir, stir until it gets thick. Pour into any flat container (or candy molds or smash between layers of wax paper or in Ziploc bags). Refrigerate until solid.

Tip- If you add too much agave the texture will change, try to keep the measurement to 1/4 cup.

 

 

 

One Response to “Making Chocolate at Home”

  1. My First Skool February 27, 2012 at 3:17 AM #

    Thanks for the recipe. THe chocolates look extremely well done. I am sure the kids will like them.

Let me know what you are thinking!

