Freaky Friday

22 Aug


Welcome to Freaky Friday.
I am the lucky owner of a set of recipe cards from 1973, a lot of recipe cards, and most of them are a bit freaky!  I thought I’d share some of my thoughts and possible ways to update these recipes. Some cards  are just too far gone and can’t be fixed but hopefully, at least I can get you laughing.  Now don’t be afraid because some of these recipe cards have a good foundation for creative recipe ideas.  I am always up for suggestions and comments.
We have come a long way baby…

As you can see this card is marked as “children’s favorites,” hmmm maybe not.

It may have been a good snack after recorder practice in 1972 but let’s talk about how we can make it better. 

1973:
Old School…


Dressing:
heavy cream

mayonnaise
honey

banana
apple
walnuts
canned pineapple
lettuce cups
buttered toast

2008:
Update suggestions…

Dressing:
Honey
plain yogurt
lemon juice

banana
apple

grapes
wheat germ or flax for sprinkling

Serve in silicone cupcake cups or foil cupcake papers
One Response to “Freaky Friday”

  1. Trisha August 24, 2008 at 6:12 PM #

    This cracks me up! Love your recipe makeover — and I’m so glad we’ve come this far!

Let me know what you are thinking!

