Gluten Free Shortstack

10 Oct
20121006-100815.jpg

Pancakes cooked fresh day one.

In general I am not a lover of sweet breakfast, I am more of a savory girl in the wee hours. Just stay out of my way until I get my coffee and every thing will be fine. My daughter and husband love pancakes so I make them from my tried and true recipe. The problem is that I eat mostly gluten free, so pancakes first thing don’t sit well with me and they are sweet to boot! Sometimes I get sick of sipping my coffee and watching my family eat those warm pancakes. Today I decided it was time to join them for breakfast. Now I have tried about every mix out there and they are ok but none compare to this recipe. I do think the King Arthur flour makes a difference in the final taste. There is no “off” flavor in these cakes and the almond meal makes them sturdy but not gritty. Now the problem is that I loved them and may be turning into one of those sweetie breakfast people! I vow to go syrup free, it’s so sweet…well unless there is bacon then I’m in!

Day two pancakes.

One thing I did experiment with was saving the batter in the refrigerator overnight. The pancakes were better on day two and held their shape better too. The day two were rounder and more pancake-ish. I did think they tasted better too! They were a tiny bit flatter than the day one cakes. You can add a 1/4 tbs of baking powder on day two just before cooking if you want them to puff more.

Day one pancakes

Enjoy this recipe….and share with your gluten free friends. If you are using frozen berries thaw them first. When you add frozen berries to the batter the center cooks too slowly and the outside will be over cooked. Thaw them in a cup in the microwave, the blueberry “water” is a nice addition to the cakes. When you spoon the berries in onto the raw cakes dribble some of the blueberry “water’ on them too.

 

Chef Jen’s Favorite Gluten Free Griddlecakes

 

1 1/2 cup gluten free flour, (King Arthur)

1 Tbs baking powder
1 scant teaspoon kosher salt or (1/4 tsp table salt)
1 Tbs sugar
1/3 cup almond meal (Almond flour*)
1 1/4 cup milk
1 large egg
3 Tbs butter , melted (I used Earth Balance)
1/2 cup fresh or frozen thawed blueberries
Mix all the dry ingredients together, add milk and egg, whisk out lumps. Add melted butter mix until just blended. Heat a cast iron skillet or griddle on medium heat. Grease the pan with butter or Earth Balance. Pour batter on hot griddle slowly by 1/4 cup amounts. Sprinkle berries on each cake. Flip when you see small bubbles around the edges.
Eat!
*I used Bob’s Red Mill almond meal.
3 Responses to “Gluten Free Shortstack”

  1. Christine Parini October 10, 2012 at 4:45 PM #

    These look and sounds great, Chef Jen! I, too, am a morning savory kinds girl, and will make these for an afternoon snack with berries from the farmers’ market. Thanks for sharing these great lookin’ cakes!

  2. trialsinfood October 10, 2012 at 8:26 AM #

    These pancakes look awesome! I agree with you…syrup is way too sweet!

  3. Naomi Roth October 10, 2012 at 6:35 AM #

    EXCELLENT PANCAKES! Naomi B Date: Wed, 10 Oct 2012 13:27:52 +0000 To: bubiroth@hotmail.com

Let me know what you are thinking!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,440 other followers

